Friday, January 12, 2018

Drawing vintage cars


 Drawing in pencil and digital colouring using Affinity Photo. These are small drawings 20 x 20cm


Saturday, December 30, 2017

2 women

Pencil and digital doodle.

Thursday, December 28, 2017

4 people

Doodling people using pencil on cartridge paper 30 x 18 cm and digital colouring using Affinity Photo


scanned drawing

Friday, December 1, 2017

Mathieu Kassovitz sketch

I painted this sketch of Mathieu Kassovitz after watching The Bureau on SBS On Demand. Kassovitz is terrific as the central character, a flawed DGSE agent.

India Ink on cartridge paper 21 x 16cm

Wednesday, November 22, 2017

Sunday, September 10, 2017

Two soldiers

Pencil sketch on lightweight tracing paper 10 x 10cm with digital colouring using Affinity Photo

Thursday, September 7, 2017

Cafe scene

Doodling in the sketchbook with felt tip pens and ink wash, coloured digitally. 20 x 20cm

Friday, July 28, 2017

Urban design and landscaping illustrations

This recent series of illustrations was commissioned to show the proposed street redesign and landscaping improvements to a strip shopping area.

View 1 finished drawing
 I used a sketchup model to setup the views and confirm the angles and scope for each scene. 
View 1 Sketchup set up drawing
Once the view was established I added rough trees, people and background to show the feel of the final view. This was traced over with felt tip pen and the final colouring done to finish with the illustration at the top. Buildings were given minimal colouring to focus the attention on the pedestrian areas and landscaping.

View 1 rough


View 2

View 2 night scene

View 4

View 5

Wednesday, July 5, 2017

Street scene

A street scene drawn with felt pens and coloured using Affinity Photo.

Tuesday, July 4, 2017

Architectural view

A quick architectural sketch coloured over a pencil elevation drawn by Peter Dann architect